Go Back   Two Wheel Fix > General > Off Topic

Old 02-06-2009, 09:13 PM   #1
OTB
The Man

Moto: 00 Bimota DB4
Default Time for a new job

Some of you know what kind of work I do; I'm a culinary instructor at a private school for kids with emotional disturbances. It is a level 5 school, which means we have, within state and federal guidelines, the ability to hold, restrain or otherwise prevent these kids from harming others or themselves. This can take the form of anything from simple arm/shoulder standing restraints, to judo-type takedowns and prolonged multi-team member prone restraints.

A little background.

Our population comes from a broad geographic and socio-economic cross-section of the Baltimore area, but most of the kids are inner city based. Most do not live with either of the birth parents; some live with relatives but most are either wards of the state in group homes or are in temporary foster care. All have been booted out of the standard school system for agressive and/or violent behavior, usually for constant and repeated peer assaults, but some for assaults on school staff also.

Some of the kids have organic-based psychiatic issues like fetal-alcohol syndrome or toxic lead poisoning (which is astoundingly prevalent in a majority of the inner-city population of agressive kids even in this day and age) and or suffer from the effects of prolonged sexual and/or physical abuse (which is another reason they are no longer in the family home) but many are also just truculant misbehavers who have never been shown rules, boundaries and limitations with forceful consequences for straying from the aformentioned limits. We service primarily high-school age with a smaller middle-school population.