Go Back   Two Wheel Fix > General > Off Topic

Old 10-08-2009, 01:52 AM   #1
Amber Lamps
Moto GP Star

Default Cancer Free!!!

Okay, as some of you know, I'm sure that most of you don't care, I've been battling throat cancer for over two years now. I had one operation to remove four tumors from my neck, larynx, and tracheal area in Oct '07. Unfortunately, there was also a tumor just off of my jugular vein that the doctors were afraid to remove.

I've lost most of my family to cancer, my grandparents, parents, sister and my brother even had throat cancer which was successfully surgically removed. I had even previously had a tumor removed from my throat/neck when I was 16.

I have seen the results of chemo/radiation (I lost most of my hair at 16) and decided that I didn't want to do that again. Ever. Frankly, I'd rather die.

Well, there a cancer center down here that has a similar mindset to mine and that "allowed" me to make that choice and opt to take "mild" chemo treatments (still sucked) in an attempt to shrink the tumor enough that it left a safe distance from my "main vein" to operate. After a year or so, it obliged and they removed it. I went today for my final check up and they can't find any trace of cancer so... To think that my doctor in Mi looked me in the eye and told me that if I didn't do the radiation and chemo I would be dead in 6 months to a year. I told him that I would rather live 6 months somewhat healthy than 5 years radiation/chemo sick! I found the center, I found a job (so I thought), I left everything and I moved down here. I figured at the worst, at least I wouldn't have to deal with the Michigan Winters again before I died!