Go Back   Two Wheel Fix > General > Off Topic

Old 03-23-2011, 12:52 PM   #1
Tmall
Aspiring Rapper

Moto: '12 CB1000R
Default Average intelligence on message boards.

I've been doing the motorcycle message board thing for about ten years now. And in that time I've been pretty lucky. Most of the forums I use have fairly intelligent to absolutely brilliant people with the occasional idiot thrown in the mix who either becomes a troll or disappears.

I didn't realize how lucky I had been until I bought my dirt bike and started browsing/posting on dirt forums.

Good lord! The average intelligence is in the negatives.

I wish I could narrow it down to one or two things to show you, but it's so bad it hurts my head to read most of the threads.

You should see the 2 stroke vs 4 stroke debates. They make you want to claw our your eyes and smash your fingers with a hammer so you can't access a computer ever again.

In closing, thank you for not being a bunch of idiots. Their average user makes our dumbest user look like a nuclear physicist...
Tmall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 01:04 PM   #2
goof2
AMA Supersport

The quality of discussion can definitely vary based on subject matter. I've recently had a renewed interest in radio controlled vehicles and there is a lot of what you describe on those as well. If I had to guess I'd say the primary factor is the average age of users. Both dirt bikes and R/C typically attract kids while street bikes will have riders who are a bit older. This site in particular seems to attract riders who may be even a little older than the average. Kids are morons and it tends to come through in their writing.
goof2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 01:12 PM   #3
CasterTroy

Where have you been exploring?

I too am looking for a dirt based forum that has less knowitalls and and trolls, and more info.